EU projects – Technology Scouting – Business Innovation


12 finalist cities competing to become the European Capital of Innovation in 2020 are:

  1. Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
  2. Espoo  (Finland)
  3. Ghent (Belgium)
  4. Groningen (The Netherlands)
  5. Helsingborg (Sweden)
  6. Leeuwarden (The Netherlands)
  7. Leuven (Belgium)
  8. Linz (Austria)
  9. Milano (Italy)
  10. Reykjavik (Iceland)
  11. Valencia (Spain)
  12. Vienna (Austria)

The 6th edition of the European Capital of Innovation Award is funded by Horizon 2020. The prize recognises the EU cities that develop vibrant innovation ecosystems to address public challenges and improve the lives of the people. Cities have shown how they created the conditions for innovation by:

  • experimenting innovative concepts, processes, tools, and governance models as a test-bed for innovation
  • engaging citizens in the innovation process and ensuring the uptake of their ideas
  • expanding the city’s attractiveness to become a role model for other cities
  • empowering citizens by bringing concrete and measurable added value through the implementation of innovative practices
The winner city will receive the title of European Capital of Innovation 2020 as well as €1,000,000 to support its innovation activities and to enhance its capacity to connect individuals, public sector, academia, and businesses to deliver societal benefits for its communities. Five runners-up will get €100,000 each.

The European Commission will announce the winner and the runners-up of the European Capital of Innovation 2020 contest at the European Research and Innovation Days taking place on 22-24 September 2020. At the same event, the Commission will award the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2020, the EIC Horizon Prize for Affordable High-Tech for Humanitarian Aid, and the Horizon Impact Award 2020.

More details here